When was the Last Time You Visited an Art Gallery?

by Micaela Kwiatkowski

Micaela was on her feet around Vancouver, guerrilla-interviewing few Vancouverites to see how they felt about Contemporary Art.

jessJess, Psychology student  

When was the last time you visited an art gallery?

I was at the MoMA and the Guggenheim a few months ago during my trip to New York.

What do you think contemporary art is?

Oh awkward, I don’t really know. Colourful?!

How do you feel about contemporary art?

I think it’s abstract, is that right?  I think some people think too much into it or analyze it. When I was at the MoMA I was admiring a lovely piece of art then got confused by all the different explanations for it. Sometimes I wish it could just be. I wish I could be an artist too.

Madison, Social worker

When was the last time you visited an art gallery?

I went to the fuse night at the Vancouver art gallery.

What do you think contemporary art is?

I think it’s current, innovative and modern.

How do you feel about it?

It’s my favourite kind of art. It’s new, fun and speaks to the now.

Do you think everyone is an artist?

No, I think you need to develop artistic skills but there are all sorts of different types of artist.  

Kyle, Mechanic

When was the last time you visited an art gallery?

Not since I was ten.

What do you think contemporary art is?

I have no idea what contemporary art is. I like art though- especially paintings. I think art is a variety things; paintings, drawings, all sorts of stuff. It’s cool.

Do you think everyone is an artist?

Everyone is an artist in their own way.

What do you think defines an artist?

People expressing themselves through artistic forms.

hannah948767292_nHannah, Computer science student & programmer

When was the last time you visited an art gallery?

A few months ago, I went to a couple downtown with my mom. She’s an architect.

What do you think about contemporary art?

I get confused between modern and contemporary.  I don’t consider myself an excerpt, but I think a lot of it is abstract art with a hidden meaning.

Do you think everyone is an artist?

Yes, I think everyone can be an artist.

Amanda, Visual art student  

What was the last exhibition you went to see?

Honestly, I think it was Unscrolled,  I saw it 5 times. I really liked Zhang Enli’s huge paintings because of their extension of space through the use of simplicity and grids.

What’s your perspective on contemporary art?

I guess I’m excited by it, there’s so many artists that are not only testing personal boundaries but conventional art boundaries as well and I think there’s this emergence of a highly intellectual art that’s forming that pushes me to develop not only aesthetically interesting pieces but the ones that explore different issues and feelings.  

Do you think everyone is? Or can be an artist ?

Maybe not in the conventional sense of the word but I think that everyone is an artist in their own discipline. Art is truly about expressing yourself and however people choose to do that I think we’re all driven by the same thing. Which also kind of breaks down the barrier of the archaic sense of high art, there’s some really interesting artists out there who traditionally may not be the best artist but because of their devotion to it they’ve created these really unique styles that cannot be emulated.

IanIan, Business graduate

When was the last time you went to an art gallery?

I saw the Leonardo Da Vinci at the Vancouver Art Gallery in 2010. That’s pretty exact, I’m surprised I even remember.

What do you think about contemporary art?

Pretty overblown. I’ve been to the Louvre in Paris and the art I come across now doesn’t have the same aura or technical caliber as the old masters.

Do you think anyone can be an artist ?

Artist now think everyone can be an artist, I don’t.

Jerry, Student

When was the last time you wen to an art gallery?

I don’t know, a year ago? 3 months ago?

What do you think contemporary art is?  

Modern, brand new art.

Do you think everyone can be an artist ?

No.

Why not?

Because some people can do it and some can’t. It’s a skill.

Leave a Reply

